The CAAC 5 Mile Road Race & 3K Fun Run


The 2018 event will be held on Wednesday 6 June and the race will start at 7:30PM.

Online entry is now open at

In a change to previous years please note that NO entries will be taken on the night.

Your race number will be available for pickup from 18:30 from the Start/Finish area.

Please do no park your car on Turnhouse Road north west of the finish area as this will obstruct the start.

Where is Registration / Start and Finish? Please find a google map here detailing all three.

In 2014 we updated our prize structure after feedback and analysis of our entrants. We now have included a V60 prize for both men and women, on top of those that were available previously.

MALE & FEMALE 1st £50, 2nd £30, 3rd £20. 1st U20/V40/V50/V60 £30.

Course Record(s) £100

Prizes will be awarded for all age categories, Male & Female Teams (3 to count) and Male & Female Course Record, plus lots of spot prizes courtesy of our sponsors.

Current Course Record(s)

MALE - Andrew Douglas (Inverclyde AC) 24:41 2017
FEMALE - Nicola Duncan (Portobello RC) 28:29 2014

Previous unaccredited course records 2004-2011.
Male - Ross Houston (Central AC) 24:14 2011, Female - Allison Higgins (JWK) 29:08 2004

The CAAC 5 & Fun Run

The CAAC 5 Route is an accurately measured 5 miles. The race was first run in 2004 as an event connected with the bi-annual Corstorphine Fair, however it was such a great success it has been a fixture in the calendar since. With the backing of the Fair and generous donations from race sponsors the race has gone from strength to strength.

View ;text-align:left">CAAC 5 in a larger map

The route is on the open winding starting from the end of Turnhouse Road and circling Turnhouse Golf Course and Cammo. There is a fast downhill start before doubling almost towards the town and round Cammo, a good uphill is quickly followed by a sharp downturn in the road to the 3mile mark. Just before the 4 mile mark there is another incline before the course drops to a fast finish just off Turnhouse Road. The route can be viewed here, CAAC 5 route & elevation. The mapping is not a completely accurate in distance, but shows the route, start, finish and mile markers.

The race takes place on a Wednesday night at the start of June, and generally thus far the sun shines brightly! There are prizes for the first 3 Men, Women and first teams.

In addition to the popular CAAC 5, on the same evening starting just after the main start there is a short Fun Run for the kids.

Results & Previous Winners

2016 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Andrew Douglas 24:41 (Inverclyde AC) Womens Winner ; Joanna Murphy 29.52 (Carnegie Harriers)

2016 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Murray Strain 25:37 (Hunters Bog Trotters) Womens Winner ; Anne Marie McGregor 32.37 (Kirkintilloch Olympians)
2015 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Patryk Gierjatowicz 25:53 (Hunters Bog Trotters) Womens Winner ; Laura Dunn 30.01 (Edinburgh AC)
2014 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Andrew Douglas 24:57 CR (Inverclyde AC) Womens Winner ; Nicola Duncan 28.29 CR (Portobello RC)
2013 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Andrew Christy 25:25 (Corstorphine AAC) Womens Winner ; Jennifer MacLean 28.46 CR (Edinburgh Athletic Club)
2012 - Full Results  Mens Winner ; Murray Strain 25:07 CR (Hunters Bog Trotters) Womens Winner ; Fiona Matheson 29.08 CR (Falkirk Victoria Harriers)
2011 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Ross Houston 24.14 (Central AC) Womens Winner ; Susan Ridley 29.36 (Edinburgh AC)
2010 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Jeff Farquhar 26.24 (Pitreavie AAC) Womens Winner ; Issy Menzies 30.08 (Edinburgh AC)
2009 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Andy Norman 24.28 (Altringham AC) Womens Winner ; Kate Jenkins 30.42 (Hunters Bog Trotters)
2008 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Steve Cairns 25.22 (Hunters Bog Trotters) Womens Winner ; Isobel Knox 31.49 (Hunters Bog Trotters)
2007 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Moray Anderson 25.22 (Corstorphine AAC) Womens Winner ; Cath Ferry 30.23 (Edinburgh Athletic Club)
2006 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Zak Bouchenka 25.17 (Portobello AC) Womens Winner ; Cath Ferry 30.49 (City of Edinburgh Athletic Club)
2005 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Kris Berry 24.51 (Corstorphine AAC) Womens Winner ; Cath Ferry 30.25 (City of Edinburgh Athletic Club)
2004 - Full Results Mens Winner ; Juan Mareque 25.24 (City of Edinburgh Athletics Club) Womens Winner ; Allison Higgins 29.08 (JW Kilmarnock)